A letter to the curious, a letter to the broken

Dear Music enthusiasts that seek a richer sound and more meaningful lyrics,

Growing up in my family’s record shop I have always been exposed to a wide variety of music and found great passion and voice in all genres we carry. Music has always been apart of me, but became even more so this summer.

Music not only pierced my heart, but healed it. This music  was not found in my family’s shop, but rather in a dark room under my church surrounded by the most talented and joy filled worshipers I know: my friends–God’s children.

Without an open heart worship music can seem repetitive and boring, but when the Holy Spirit touches your heart it becomes more rich and full than anything you have experienced before.

Don’t let my spiritual invitation scare you. I am not asking you to believe, but simply to listen. Sit down, put in some headphones, and just open your heart. Maybe you have been experiencing anger, sadness, or emptiness. Maybe you are seeking something to fill that little gap in your heart. Maybe you are just curious.

I ask you to listen to a song or two and repeat the words in your head, allow your body to sway to the music and feel God’s presence around you enveloping you as you hear Kari Jobe instruct you to:

Be still my soul, be still
Be still my soul, be still
Wait patiently upon the Lord
Be still my soul, be still

After you have been calmed and put into a deep state of peace allow David Crowder Band to remind you that:

He is jealous for me

Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,

Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

Feeling the power and strength sit in your bones Kari rattles you with:

He is here for the broken

When the waves rise against me
and the wind tries to draw me away
I will stand on the mountain
safe in your arms I will sing… I will sing

Because now you realize that through all of your mistakes and all of your misgivings God still loves you; you feel safe…you feel home. Then you sing with The United Pursuit that there is:

No Place I’d rather be
No Place I’d rather be
No place I’d rather be
Here in your Love, Here in your love

And then you and Francesca Battistelli invite God into your life by singing together:

Holy Spirit, You are welcome here

Come flood this place and fill the atmosphere

Your glory, God, is what our hearts long for

To be overcome by Your presence, Lord

Your presence, Lord

Throughout my high school experience, I felt empty, like something was missing. I felt as though I was being denied of something so good and loving. I longed for a more meaningful life. I longed to feel love and acceptance.

I remember the night that I accepted Jesus once again into my heart. This time was much more different than before. I felt broken and weak. I remember a friend kneeling beside me, wiping my tears telling me to give it all to Him. That I should empty myself of any burden any sadness and give it to Him.

I resisted. Feeling vulnerable is hard and scary, your mind fills with worries and doubts. It took one second. One ounce of trust. Realizing that “He is here for the broken” (Kari Jobe). My heart broke, and shattered into infinite little pieces too small to ever be assembled again. I felt free! And in that moment, almost simultaneously, I felt something else. I had that feeling in my gut of a warm soup on a cold day, a hug after a long cry, light in a dark cave. I felt love. It was immense and overwhelming, but it was just what I needed. And in that moment there was “No place I would rather be, than here in your love” (David Crowder).

And I wanted more. I wanted to feel this love for ever. Many believers will tell you that experiencing God can feel like a high. You feel intoxicated on his rich love. You feel completely confident naked in front of him. You feel whole. Amongst all the chaos in my life I am reminded to be still and sit in God’s presence. It is not up to me to calm the waters, I do not have that strength. I must trust that God has me. So I pulled out my guitar and started to strum a few chords and each day I have the ability to experience my own little infinity and I invite you to try it out.

Through my hard times this summer, having this music saved me and I feel reborn again!

Simple verses that once seemed boring and trivial now fuel my soul. Worship music, once experienced for its true beauty and power make all other music seem meaningless and boring. Once you’ve tasted the finest wines, sipping on cheap 7-11 beverages seem dull and lacking.

I have always been a music lover, but now I am someone who experiences every beat and savors every word. Because I experienced such immense love, I desire others to also find this.

Because this is such a personal and unique experience, I want you to know that you are not alone. I would love for you to reach out to me for advice or simply a copy of my playlist! You can email me or just comment below. Even though I felt alone throughout my process, I really wasn’t! I was surrounded by so many wonderful people that were there for me and I didn’t even know it. I am always here, but also I invite you to look around and who already has your back.

 

With Much Love,

 

Rapunzel

Leave a Reply

